Trust Deed Forum - Sequestration - Worst case scenario?
Trust-Deed.co.uk
Home Home Page

Trust Deed Forum
Trust Deed Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Trust Deeds
 Scottish Trust Deed Forum
 Sequestration - Worst case scenario?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Tom1234
Just Joined

2 Posts

Posted - 11 May 2020 :  18:55:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am reading this forum for some time now and considering my options. I did an assessment with StepChange and they say I qualify for Bankruptcy, what I am about to apply for, but I do have some doubts. I know this forum is mainly for trust deed doubts, but if someone can help me with those sequestration doubts it would be really appreciated.

Just so you have a background, I live in Scotland, I have around 15K in debts and after my living expenses, I don't have any spare income. I am studying at the moment, what won't leave me more time for doing more work than what I am already doing and I am a lone parent as well. I don't own a house or any assets, just my car that value less than 2K. I don't see my situation changing in the next 4 years since I need to finish university before I can work more hours and get a better job.

My first doubt is, even though in the last 2 months my self-employment business was affected by the coronavirus situation, I received my Universal Credit payment increased, which allowed me to pay for my basic bills. But now it seems that I will receive also the self-employed grant. It is not a lot of money, but as I had cut expenses in those months due to self-isolation and had the UC increased, I was able to cover the basic bills before receiving this grant.