Trust Deeds
 Scottish Trust Deed Forum
 MAP or Trust deed? Car on finance :(
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ana

4 Posts

Posted - 31 January 2020 :  16:57:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all, I am a newbie and I am already a while coming here to this forum to read advice regarding trust deed, something I am thinking to do since my finances are going out of control :(

I was now considering Minimal Asset Process (MAP) bankruptcy, but I am really worried if this processes would make me lose my car, since I need it for work purposes (I am self-employed) and also to take my daughter to school and clubs.

I can't really understand what would be de differences between this and a Trust Deed. It seems that both require a 4 years contribution, so, what would be the differences?

I don't own any assets and my house is rented. My car is valued less than £2000 and it is hire purchase (I have still 2 more years to pay). I see that there is a clause on my contract that says if I go bankruptcy the contract is ended but it says also something about Trustee, so I believe this would apply for a trust deed too?

Someone knows if there is any change that I could go bankrupt or in a trust deed and still keep my car?

This is really concerning me :(

Thank you in advance

TDA (Debt Adviser)
Trust Deed Expert

13293 Posts

Posted - 31 January 2020 :  17:29:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome to the forum Ana.

You can keep a car that you reasonably need if you go bankrupt or enter a trust deed. In this case the valuation isn't relevant right now, because if it's on hire purchase you don't actually own the vehicle. It's still owned by the finance provider until you have paid it all off.