Scottish Trust Deed Forum
 To trust deed or not to trust deed
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

eaglewatcher

3 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2019 :  09:08:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,
I've never written anything on a forum before and I'm scared half to death about all this. Actually in tears at work typing it. But I don't really know how to deal with things any more and would appreciate any advice out there.

Two days ago I contacted Payplan about my debts which are becoming unsustainable. I'm due to receive a phone call later today to go over everything. But because I know so little about this stuff and really don't understand financial terminology etc I'm terrified I'll get talked into something I can't cope with.

I have the following debts:
6000 credit card
15,000 Tesco bank (4 years remaining)
3250 Loan for a car (not a specific car loan) - took out in April 2.5 years remaining.
2000 credit union (1 year remaining
600 overdraft with the bank.

I'm not in arrears with anyone and have always made payments on time. But my monthly repayments plus bills total 1486 against a wage of 1100.

The loans are in my name alone. But my husband puts money into my account each month to 'pay his share'.
However, he's 70. He receives a state pension of 154 a week and a private pension of 440 a month, and all this is starting to impact him too. He's a worrier so I can't really discuss it all with him. But things are becoming unsustainable

The house is in his name and the mortgage is paid off (It's a second marriage for both of us and we never got around to changing names on things. But it's his house and whatever debt solution I enter into cannot have an impact on the house).
The car is also in his name. (I need the car to get to work so I can't put that at risk either).