Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

DW2015
Contributor

8 Posts

Posted - 22 October 2019 :  21:55:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all.

Worried newbie here. Think my debt is just about to tip over the edge and I'm unsure what to do about it.

I have unsecured debt of around £50k but I've been paying everything on time and have no arrears anywhere.
My only problem is that I've been borrowing from Peter to pay Paul and I'm at a point where there's no more borrowing left.

We own our house. We purchased it through the government help to buy scheme so government own first 15% of the sale.
From my calculations we have roughly £15-20k equity in the property after the government deduction.
House worth ballpark £185k and £135k left on the mortgage.
This is a joint mortgage with me and my wife. All of the debt is in my name though.
I'm not sure what impact, if any, the government involvement has.

I lease a vehicle so do not own one.

I have a salary of just over £50k per year and a bankruptcy would have an impact on future job opportunities given the sector that I work in.

I've read a lot of information regarding secured loans, DAS and TDs but I think that a secured loan is the wrong option.

To be honest I'm slightly scared as I've never had to do anything like this before.

Would greatly appreciate any advice that anyone can give me.

DW2015
Contributor

8 Posts

Posted - 22 October 2019 :  22:25:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sorry. One thing I should have added is that roughly £30k of my debt is with Nationwide. They are by far the majority creditor. Next up is Barclays with £10k and the rest are smaller amounts with various other creditors.

I also bank with Nationwide which I assume is not a good idea if things are going tits up.

Edited by - DW2015 on 22 October 2019 22:37:50
Go to Top of Page

David Tannock
Trust Deed Expert

2383 Posts

Posted - 22 October 2019 :  23:18:02  Show Profile  Reply with Quote